You’ll own this scone recipe

If scones aren’t the most elegant of pastries, I don’t know what is.

The Inspiration

My ladyfriend, Olivia, made scones while we were on Thanksgiving break. To make me squirm, she told me that I could have one when I got back from break. After a long anticipated wait, I ate what was probably the best tasting scone I’ve ever had.

Her orange cranberry scones (something of her own concoction) were absolutely delicious. So I decided to follow her recipe and try my hand.

The Recipe

This one I followed exactly. I wanted to recreate that delicious, flakey, buttery, slightly tart deliciousness.

(2) oranges

juice of (1) orange

zest of (2) oranges

(2) eggs

(2/3) cup of white sugar

(1/4) cup of milk or cream

(1) cup frozen butter

(4) cups flour

(1/2) teaspoon baking soda

(2) tablespoons baking powder

(1/2-1) cup dried cranberries

Step One

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Step Two

Zest both oranges in one bowl. Juice one orange in another.

Step Three

Combine flour, baking soda and baking powder.

Step Four

In separate bowl, mix sugar, eggs, zest, milk and 3/4 of orange juice together.

file2-2

Step Five

Cut butter into flour mixture.

**Note: you should end up with nickel-sized chunks of butter.

file3-2

Step Six

Use hands to combine wet mixture with flour mixture until you form a dough that lacks the powderiness of the flour.

file4-1

Step Seven

Add cranberries, combine evenly.

Step Eight

Divide dough in half.

Step Nine

Take one-half and flatten to about an inch thick into circular shape on a baking sheet. Cut into six triangular pieces.

file5-1

Step Ten

Shape pieces and rearrange onto baking sheet.

file6-1

Step Eleven

Bake for 7-11 minutes until golden brown.

Step Twelve

In medium bowl, combine rest of orange juice with powdered sugar to create glaze.

Step Thirteen

Remove scones from oven and lightly glaze.

file8-1

Step Fourteen

Enjoy

The Verdict

I told all five of my roommates that they could have a scone for breakfast the next morning (we had 12 scones total). I had one in the morning and when I got home around 4 p.m. there was not a single scone left.

These babies are a flakey and delicious labor of love, but if you can make them just right, they are one of the most elegant pastries on the planet.

Cheers!

-SJE

One Comment Add yours

  1. Emilie Rosin says:

    Hey Stephen! I really like this recipe and post! I can’t believe that all of the scones were gone in a matter of hours! They must have been delicious.

    Like

Leave a Reply

