Simply sweet & sour stir fry

I love stir fry…love it.

This week, I wanted some. So like I do a lot of the time, I tried to make some.

The Inspiration

I found a recipe from a fellow food blogger. The blog is called Mel’s Kitchen Cafe and has been alive and kicking for a long time. I found that this recipe for Sweet and Sour sauce was dated back since 2008. It shows that Mel has been around enough to know what she’s talking about.

You need to check her out.

The Recipe

I didn’t use Mel’s recipe directly. Instead, I modified it because I discovered that I didn’t have any chicken about midway through cooking.

Essentially, I used Mel’s sauce and whatever I had in the kitchen.

Serving size: 1 to 2, depending on how hungry you are.

The stirfry

(1) cup of rice (any kind will do).

(1-2) cups of your favorite veggies. I used broccoli and corn because it’s what I had.

(1/8) cup of vegetable oil

The sauce

(1/2 to 3/4) cup granulated sugar (depending on how sweet you want the sauce)

(4) tablespoons ketchup

(1/2) cup vinegar

(1-2) tablespoon soy sauce

(1) teaspoon garlic. You can use salt or raw garlic, your choice.

(1) tablespoon cornstarch. It doesn’t add any flavor but thickens the sauce a bit.

Step One

Cook your rice.

I use a rice cooker because they are a God send and make things amazingly easy. If you don’t have a rice cooker, here is a wikiHow on how to cook rice. 

img_0173

Step Two

Combine sugar, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic and ketchup into medium saucepan. Set to medium-low heat and stir until combined. Once ingredients are combined, add cornstarch.

Take off heat and wait until step six.

img_0176

Step Three

Put all of your veggies in a biggish pan. Set to medium heat. Cook until browned.

Once they’re browned, you can remove them from the heat and put them in a separate bowl.

img_0180

Step Four

Add oil to same pan. Add rice to pan after it is finished cooking.

Stirring regularly, fry the rice. (sounds simple right?)

img_0182

Step Five

Add fried veggies to rice and combine thoroughly.

Step Six

Add sauce.

Step Seven (not required)

Step seven is something I love to do with Asian dishes, especially ones that don’t have a ton of protein in them.

You can add an egg.

I poached an egg (boiling it for a few minutes) and placed it atop of my delicious stir fry, something that I think makes any meal elegant.

A lot of people just add a scrambled egg with their veggies.

img_0185

The Verdict

This is one of my go-to meals when I am either am extremely hungry or if I know I’ll need leftovers the next day. It reheats quite well and is still delicious the next day!

Cheers,

SJE

Leave a Reply

