The great debate: hummus with or without tahini?

The Inspiration

This week, I wanted something to dampen my snacking behavior. I decided to make hummus.

Hummus if you don’t know is a Levantine  dip that is made from chickpeas (or garbanzo beans). The beans are ground together with olive oil, garlic, lemon and tahini in order to make a smooth paste like texture.

The dip is then served traditionally with pita chips.

Now the great debate with hummus is whether to make it with or without tahini. If you google should I make hummus without tahini? you’ll find dozens and dozens of recipes that say that you don’t need tahini. But on the other hand, you will find food purists on the web like The Hummus Blog saying that it’s essential.

I personally think you can make dang good hummus wihtout tahini

So that’s what I did.

The Recipe

I was inspired this week by a fellow food blogger Muna who writes Munaty Cooking (I love the play on words). She had a super simple non-tahini hummus recipe that I tweaked a little bit to make my own.

Before you get into the recipe, make sure to check out Muna’s blog, she’s got lots of easy recipes that I will be trying myself. Also if you make one of her recipes, use the hashtag #munatycooking !

What you’ll need:

(1) 15 oz can of chickpeas ($0.60)

(1/4) cup of olive oil, or any oil of your choosing

(2-3) tablespoons of garlic, depending on how garlicy you like your hummus

(2-3) tablespoons of water

(1) tablespoon of cumin

(1) squirt of siracha. I add siracha because I like the spice, you don’t have to

(1-1000) of something to eat your hummus with

The reasoning behind the first three steps is to make your hummus smooth. The outer shell of the pea is thick enough to be noticed in your hummus. If you don’t care about the viscosity of your hummus, you can skip the first three steps. 

Step One:

Open chickpeas and put them into a medium-sized sauce pan and fill 3/4 of the way full with water.

Turn heat to high.

hummus1

Step Two:

When water becomes cloudy, drain peas into a cullender.

 

file61
They don’t need to be as bubbly as these. I let my beans soak too long, but they were fine!

 

Step Three:

Take one pea at a time (this is a longer process but it’s worth it) and peel the shell off. Place the shelled peas into a food processor.

If you don’t have a food processor you can use a blender or a fork to mash the peas together in the next step.

 

hummus3
Note the tiny shells above the food processor, that’s what the shells look like. They are sometimes hard to see while they’re on your chickpeas.

 

Step Four:

Combine oil, garlic, sriracha and cumin with peas and blend.

hummus4

Step Five:

Blend until desired creaminess.

Watch the consistency of the hummus while you blend if you think it needs to be smoother, add a bit of the water. If it looks okay, then you’re good to go.

hummus5

Step Six:

Eat. Eat. Eat. I did so with some buttery crackers.

hummus7

The Verdict

You can seriously eat it on anything, crackers, tortilla chips, sandwiches, wraps, burgers, I even had some on a salad the other day.

I love this stuff. It doesn’t taste exactly what you’ll find in the grocery store or at a fancy health food deli but for a tight budget, it does the trick!

Enjoy!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    Next time you make this grab some tahini paste from Wally-World and add a tbs to your food processor! Makes a world of difference! 👌🏼

    Like

    1. stepheneibes says:

      I looked for tahini at Waly World but didn’t see any:(

      I’ll have to keep a better eye out for the stuff!

      Like

Leave a Reply

