Practically free “oofta” oatmeal raisin cookies

The Inspiration

Do you like cookies?

Do you like free stuff?

If you answered yes to either of those questions, you should give this recipe a look.

In about the last five or six weeks (I haven’t kept track) I haven’t bought groceries for myself. I’ve tried living off of what I have in my cupboards and capitalizing on free food. 

You may have noticed that I italicized free food. I did it for good reason. I want you as a cook/baker/iron chef to capitalize on what is given to you. Free food is the best food. Last week I was given a four-pound bag of oatmeal.  I don’t necessarily love oatmeal or oatmeal cookies, but I am willing to use what I am given. So I decided to make cookies.

Free food is the best food.

The Recipe

I found a recipe online. Here is the recipe in my own words. The only ingredients I actually bought for this recipe were the raisins ($1.98 at Walmart) the rest of the ingredients were shared with my roommates (which I consider free).

Step One:

preheat oven to 375.

step-1-orc
My oven isn’t as old as it might look. I promise.

Step Two:

Combine butter and both sugars in a large bowl until you get a creamy consistency and a color that is a bit lighter than your average peanut butter.

 

Step Three:

Add the vanilla and eggs to the mix and combine until the mixture is fluffier.

Step Four:

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, oatmeal, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

Step Five:

Combine the two bowls gradually into one. I combine the flour mixture into the sugar mixture by thirds. It comes together easier and you don’t make as much of a mess.

file6
I forgot to take the before picture. Sorry.

Step Six:

Add your raisins and mix evenly.

Step Seven:

Put your dough onto a baking sheet and place in the oven for 8-10 minutes.

I roll my dough into little balls so they look better, but my mom says that it’s not necessary. But other sources (the Kitchn) seem to say differently. 

file10
I think if you made your cookies smaller you could fit more onto one pan, but who likes tiny cookies?

Step Eight:

Let cool and enjoy.

file12

Pro Tip

always freeze half of my dough. It helps me cut down on the number of cookies that I eat, and who doesn’t like remembering that they have cookie dough in the freezer. It’s a win-win.

 

file9
My middle name is Joseph if you were wondering what the J stood for.

 

The Verdict

I gave a cookie to my ladyfriend and she said the following: “woah. nice work…oofta.”

I don’t necessarily love oatmeal raisin cookies, but this batch is changing my mind. All-in-all it’s always good to capitalize on free ingredients.

If you like the idea of really cheap (practically free) food, check out the 99 Cent Chef. He doesn’t always use free ingredients, but every ingredient he makes is 99 cents or cheaper.

 

Leave a Reply

